Skip to content

The three pillars of Land Rover

At the LA Motor show which ended this week, Land Rover Design boss Gerry McGovern revealed Land Rover’s three design pillars giving insight into the future for the brand.

Luxury, Leisure and Dual Purpose are the three pillars that will take the brand through 2015.

The Luxury pillar which is considered to be Range Rover will mean that now all luxury SUVs will wear the Range Rover logo. This pillar has been substantially worked on over the past 24 months with release of all three new models bearing the Range Rover brand.  The Leisure pillar which includes the Discovery and the new Freelander replacement which will also take the Discovery name. The Dual purpose pillar is that of the Defender which will be replaced in 2015 which have been seeing for a while now with shots of the DC100 concept.

There will also be another two models entering the range, one will sit between the Evoque and the Range Rover Sport and the second is said to be smaller than the Evoque. 

Gerry McGovern stated, “We will be focusing more from next year on the Leisure pillar, you will notice differences between Luxury and Leisure, as they’re clearly targeted at different customers and will build the brand significantly.”

The new baby Discovery will have the base underpinnings of the Freelander,but will set itself apart from its luxurious brother the Evoque. It will be more rugged based more on the offroad look with roof rails and under body protection.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.